
From Classic to Catastrophe: The Scorecard Snafu at the 1968 Masters
Share
The Masters is built on tradition, but in 1968, one of golf’s greatest traditions — the green jacket ceremony — felt a little. .. off. Instead of a thrilling playoff at Augusta National, fans were left stunned as one of the most gut-wrenching mistakes in sports history played out in real time.
A Sunday to Remember
The final round of the ‘68 Masters had all the makings of an instant classic. The great Roberto De Vicenzo, an Argentine legend and reigning British Open champion, played like a man on a mission. At 45 years old, he fired a final-round 65, surging up the leaderboard and appearing to force a Monday playoff with Bob Goalby.
CBS was already hyping it up. Fans were ready. The drama was building. But then ... everything changed.
The Scorecard That Stunned Augusta
After a dazzling round, De Vicenzo walked into the scorer’s tent, where he was handed his scorecard — filled out by his playing partner, Tommy Aaron. But there was one problem: Aaron had mistakenly marked a 4 instead of a 3 on the 17th hole.
Under the Rules of Golf, once a player signs their scorecard, it’s final. If they sign for a lower score than they actually shot? Disqualification. But if they sign for a higher score? That higher score becomes official.
De Vicenzo — likely exhausted, possibly distracted by the moment — signed without catching the mistake.
Instead of a 65, his official score was recorded as a 66. Instead of tying Bob Goalby and forcing a playoff, he lost by one shot.
'What a Stupid I Am'
As Augusta officials reviewed the card, the buzz in the air turned from excitement to disbelief. Word started spreading: there might not be a playoff after all.
CBS, expecting to cover bonus golf on Monday, suddenly had to pivot. Pat Summerall, who had been hyping up the drama, now had to break the news: Roberto De Vicenzo had lost the Masters not with a bad swing, but with a bad signature.
In the Butler Cabin, Bob Goalby sat awkwardly, accepting his green jacket with the body language of a man who knew this wasn’t how it was supposed to go. He had played a great tournament — he deserved to win. But even he couldn’t shake the feeling that this wasn’t the ending anyone expected.
Meanwhile, De Vicenzo, gracious but devastated, uttered the now-famous words:
“What a stupid I am.”
The Legacy of the Blunder
De Vicenzo never won the Masters, but his grace in the face of heartbreak only added to his legend. The mistake eventually led to changes in the way players verify their scorecards, but at the time, the rule was the rule.
As for Goalby? He never truly got the recognition a Masters champion typically receives. Fair or not, his name is forever linked to the strangest win in tournament history.